6 Reasons I am Thankful for Remote Work Days this Thanksgiving

Image: graur codrin / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I want to share 6 reasons to be thankful for remote work days this holiday. Individual lists will vary in reasons and themes, and the commonality or uniqueness as there are as many reasons as there are remote workers.  I am confident that you will relate to the majority of my themes.

1.   Flexibility.  Isn’t that what it’s all about? Having the option to work remote (from home in my case) freed me to prepare for the Thanksgiving dinner I hosted while completing productive work. Sounds like a win-win to me.

2. Productivity. Free from the office chitter chatter around holiday plans and family issues shared all too candidly by the water cooler, I completed 10 hours of work in 8 hours while doing laundry and planning dinner.

3. Commute. Spared from my 2 hour round trip commute, I was able to sleep in, run errands and still bill out a good days effort and results.

4. Precious vacation time saved.  Without the remote work option, I would have been forced to burn at least half a day of vacation time, which surely would leave me in unthankful spirits.

5. Comfortable work space.  As I have been living with a displaced disk the last three months, long periods of time in an office chair are mild torture for me.  I am extremely thankful for my current pain free workspace on the living room floor.

6. starting the holiday with a grateful attitude.  Remote work has been one more blessing to add to a large list of blessings this year.

Happy Thanksgiving!

I welcome your feedback and would love to hear you comments and personal experience with this top.  Find this helpful? Please subscribe to RemoteWorker Daily and forward this post to three friends.

This entry was posted in Advantages of Working Remotely, Promoting Remote Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.